Wednesday, March 20, 2013

Voting underway for 2013 NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race

   Race fans can now cast ballots for their favorite Sprint Fan Vote eligible driver in the hopes of putting him or her in the May 18 NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Voting ends at 5 p.m. ET on the day of the race.

    Fans can vote an unlimited number of times by downloading the NASCAR Mobile ’13 application or visiting Votes cast on NASCAR Mobile ’13 will count twice towards a driver’s total. The driver receiving the highest number of votes and not already in the race will earn a spot in the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race.

    To date, 26 drivers are eligible for the 2013 Sprint Fan Vote including rookie of the year candidates Danica Patrick and Ricky Stenhouse Jr. To be eligible for the Sprint Fan Vote, drivers must have finished in the top 55 of the final 2012 Cup series driver standings or attempted to qualify for the 2013 Daytona 500.

Drivers eligible for the Sprint Fan Vote include:
A.J. Allmendinger
Aric Almirola
Dave Blaney
Mike Bliss
Jeff Burton
Landon Cassill
Bill Elliott
David Gilliland
Travis Kvapil
Bobby Labonte
Terry Labonte
Michael McDowell
Jamie McMurray
Casey Mears
Paul Menard
Juan Pablo Montoya
Danica Patrick
David Ragan
David Reutimann
Scott Speed
Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
David Stremme
Martin Truex Jr.
Michael Waltrip
Josh Wise
J.J. Yeley

It's NASCAR vs. NHRA .... in softball

   Drivers from the worlds of NASCAR and NHRA will face off on April 17 in a charity slow-pitch softball game at CMC - Northeast Stadium in Kannapolis, N.C. In addition, country recording artist Darrell Harwood will sing the national anthem prior to the game, and will then be the star of a post-game concert.

    The NASCAR team will include Kurt Busch, Martin Truex Jr., Clint Bowyer, Kasey Kahne, Matt Kenseth, Michael Waltrip, Darrell Waltrip, David Ragan, Brad Sweet, and Parker Kligerman.

    The big names from the NHRA include Top Fuel Dragster stars Tony Schumacher, Brandon Bernstein, Antron Brown, JR Todd, Shawn Langdon, Clay Millican, and Bob Vandergriff. They will be joined by a number of Funny Car competitors, including Courtney Force, Ron Capps, Del Worsham, Chad Head, and Matt Hagan.

    Proceeds from the event will be donated to charities specifically selected by each team. The NASCAR drivers have selected The Armed Forces Foundation, while the NHRA team has designated Children's Healthcare of Atlanta.

    Game time is 7 p.m. Eastern. Tickets are $20 for reserved seats, $15 for general admission, and are on sale now.

    Click here for direct link to tickets.