Friday, November 30, 2012

Tony Stewart's list of 2012 NASCAR award winners

   Winners of the sixth annual ‘Stewie Awards’ were announced Thursday night by three-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Tony Stewart live on Sirius XM Radio and in front of a studio audience in Las Vegas.

   The ‘Stewie Award’ winners were decided by fans who voted for the best, boldest and funniest moments of the NASCAR season. 

   ‘The Stewies’ will be rebroadcast on SiriusXM NASCAR Radio several times over the coming weeks, including this Saturday, Dec. 1 (3 p.m. ET) and Sunday, Dec. 2 (7 p.m. ET).

   The 2012 winners of the 'Stewie Awards':

   Best Original Drama, For the year’s most dramatic moment or sequence -- The season-long “competitive drama” between Brad Keselowski and Jimmie Johnson lasts to the AdvoCare 500 at Phoenix (11/11), the penultimate race of the Chase, when Jimmie Johnson loses a tire and hits the wall with less than 80 laps to go. Johnson was running seventh at the time and was only 3 points behind Brad Keselowski in the standings but the accident and Johnson’s 32nd place finish put him 20 back heading into season finale.

    Bonehead Move of the Year Award -- During the Hollywood Casino 400 at Kansas (10/21) Danica Patrick, in an attempt to spin Landon Cassill as payback for what she felt was overly aggressive driving, ends up putting herself into the wall.

    “Feels Like The First Time” Award, For the most notable “first” of the NASCAR season --  Dale Earnhardt Jr. ends a 144 race winless streak by taking the checkered flag at Michigan (6/17).

    Best Vocal Performance, For the year’s most memorable quote -- After the Aaron’s 499 at Talladega (5/6), Tony Stewart meets with the media and shares his thoughts on the wrecks during the race. Audio here:

    Best “Driver2Crew Chatter” -- Carl Edwards plays an April Fool’s joke on then crew chief Bob Osborne during the Goody’s Fast Relief 500 at Martinsville (4/1).   Audio here:

    Best Original Comedy, For the year’s most entertaining “incident” -- After the Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte (5/27) when no moderator shows for Matt Kenseth’s media availability, Kenseth takes it upon himself to host the proceedings.

    Hal Needham Award (Best Stunt Sequence), For the year’s most remarkable crash -- On lap 161 of the Daytona 500 (2/27), Juan Pablo Montoya loses control and hits a jet dryer in Turn 3. The fiery crash ignites a fuel spill that burns the track, causing a two hour race delay.

    ‘Boys, Have At It” Award -- Jeff Gordon vs. Clint Bowyer in the final laps of the AdvoCare 500 at Phoenix (11/11).

    The Social Stewie Award, For the year’s best tweet -- @MattKenseth: “Talked to #DaleJr yesterday, told him I was glad he was coming back…being the most popular driver was really hard work. #imkidding” (10/23)

    Golden Stewie Award honoring a legendary figure from the Golden Era of racing -- Presented to journalist and broadcaster Dr. Dick Berggren.

    “Stewie” Lifetime Achievement Award -- Presented to longtime broadcaster Bob Jenkins.