Sunday, January 27, 2013

Vettel edges Keselowski for Speed Performer of the Year

   Motorsports icon Mario Andretti presented his namesake trophy to 2012 Formula One champion Sebastian Vettel as this year’s Speed Performer of the Year on the Sunday night edition of Speed Center.

    “You are going up against the best of the best for this award,” said Andretti, the only driver to ever win the Indianapolis 500, the Daytona 500 and the Formula One World Championship. “We’re considering every major discipline in motor sports. That’s what you are up against … that’s the grandeur of this award.”

    Vettel, who captured his third consecutive Formula One title in dramatic fashion to become the youngest triple champion in series history, came out atop five Speed Performer of the Year finalists, including NASCAR champion Brad Keselowski, versatile youngster Kyle Larson, IndyCar champ Ryan Hunter-Reay and WRC legend Sebastien Loeb. 

   Ten of this year’s 16 nominees earned at least one first-place vote in the balloting.