Saturday, December 18, 2010

Jim Hunter honored by NMPA

   Members of the National Motorsports Press Association have selected the late Jim Hunter as the fourth quarter winner of the NMPA Speedway Motorsports Spirit Award.

   The award is designed to recognize character and achievement in the face of adversity, sportsmanship and contributions to motorsports. Each year, quarterly winners are selected, and an overall winner is determined by a vote of the NMPA membership.

   Hunter, who died Oct. 29 after a yearlong battle with cancer, epitomized the spirit of NASCAR throughout his lengthy career in the sport. He worked as a journalist, public relations representative, president of Darlington Raceway and NASCAR executive.

   Through his role as NASCAR vice president of corporate communications, Hunter served as a liaison between the sanctioning body and the press, and was considered a close and trusted friend of both.

   Also receiving votes were: Atlanta Motor Speedway Director of Marketing and Promotion Marcy Scott, NASCAR Camping World Truck Series owner/driver Jennifer Jo Cobb and NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson.

   Bobby Hutchens, competition director at Stewart-Haas Racing, won the award in the first quarter, J.D. Gibbs and his family won the honor in the second quarter and Sprint Cup driver Brian Vickers won the third quarter Spirit Award.