Tuesday, December 28, 2010

NASCAR TV start times look like they will remain the same in 2011

   The TV start times for NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races, at least those on the Fox Network anyways, look like they will remain the same in 2011.

   The Observer and ThatsRacin.com have obtained the approximate green-flag start times of all the Cup races that will be broadcast on Fox and they all generally follow the same 1 p.m.-3 p.m.-7:30 p.m. Eastern start time slots of 2010.

   NASCAR CEO and Chairman Brian France said during the season finale race weekend in Homestead, Fla., that the sanctioning body was looking at several areas that could be affecting poor TV ratings in 2010, including start times.

   According to the information obtained, the Budweiser Shootout is scheduled for a green-flag start at 8:29 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 12. The 2011 Daytona 500 is scheduled for a 1:19 p.m. green-flag start on Feb. 20.

   Other green-flag start times:
   3:14 p.m. Eastern Feb. 27 at Phoenix
   3:16 p.m. Eastern March 6 at Las Vegas
   1:13 p.m. Eastern March 20 at Bristol
   3:16 p.m. Eastern March 27 at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, Calif.
   1:13 p.m. Eastern April 3 at Martinsville, Va.
   7:46 p.m. Eastern April 9 at Texas
   1:19 p.m. Eastern April 17 at Talladega, Ala.
   7:44 p.m. Eastern April 30 at Richmond, Va.
   7:45 p.m. Eastern May 7 at Darlington, S.C.
   1:15 p.m. Eastern May 15 at Dover, Del.
   7:46 p.m. Eastern May 21 NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race at Charlotte Motor Speedway
   6:15 p.m. Eastern May 29 Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte Motor Speedway
   1:16 p.m. Eastern June 5 at Kansas