Friday, May 18, 2012

Update on All-Star Fan vote

   Nearly 2 million votes have been cast in the 2012 Sprint Fan Vote for one driver to gain entry into the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race on Saturday night at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

   Top 20 drivers (in points) Jeff Burton (17th), Dale Earnhardt Jr. (3rd), Joey Logano (15th), Jamie McMurray (20th), Juan Pablo Montoya (19th) and Martin Truex Jr. (6th) need to claim a win or runner-up finish in the Sprint Showdown or rely on the Sprint Fan Vote to capture a spot in the All-Star Race field.

   The five drivers leading the Sprint Fan Vote standings (in alphabetical order) are: A.J. Allmendinger, Earnhardt Jr., Bill Elliott, Bobby Labonte and Logano.

   Earnhardt Jr. (2011), Logano (2009) and Truex Jr. (2005) are all former winners of the Sprint Fan Vote.

   Voting will continue until 5 p.m. Eastern Saturday. Fans can vote by visiting, using the NASCAR Sprint Cup Mobile application on Sprint Android devices, or by texting “VOTE” to 229466 on any wireless carrier (standard text messaging and data rates apply).