Monday, January 30, 2012

Kyle Busch already a winner in 2012

   The 2012 CRA Super Series SpeedFest 200 may have started at a new venue, but for Kyle Busch and his No. 51 KBM Camry the race ended in a familiar location - Victory Lane. Busch, who won back-to-back SpeedFests in 2009 and 2010 when the event was held at Lanier National Speedway in Braselton, Ga., led 86 of the final 100 laps of Sunday's race at Watermelon Capital Speedway in Cordele, Ga. en route to his third career SpeedFest title.

   "It feels good to be the SpeedFest 2012 winner and to get my first win as a member of the Monster Energy family of athletes," said Busch. "It was an awesome weekend -- the turnout in the grandstands was great and the car count was phenomenal.

   "Everyone with the CRA Super Series does such a great job and I love competing in their events. I can't say enough about Chris Gabehart and all the guys that work on this KBM Camry -- they build fast cars that are a lot of fun to drive."

   Bubba Pollard finished second, followed by NASCAR Sprint Cup Series regular David Ragan in third. Casey Smith and T.J. Reaid rounded out the top-five finishers. The race featured 13 cautions for 86 laps. Seven of the 30 cars were unable to finish the race.

Living Legends honored at Daytona

   The Living Legends of Auto Racing will be hosting their 20th Annual Awards Banquet on Wednesday evening, February 22, 2012 in the Grand Ballroom at The Shores Resort and Spa, 2637 S. Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach Shores, Florida.

   This year's award recipients are; Junior Johnson, Richard Childress, Ken Ragan, Buzzie Reutimann, Clare B. Lang (Sirius XM NASCAR Radio), Joe Mihalic, Eddie MacDonald Sr. and Racing's North Turn Beach Bar and Grill.

   The event will begin at 6 p.m. with a cocktail hour (cash bar). Dinner will be served at 7 p.m. Tickets for the event are $45. Reservations are required. For information or to purchase tickets please call Joan at (386) 255-7428.