Monday, May 23, 2011

Who should be next in NASCAR Hall?

   With the completion of the induction of the Class of 2011 in to the NASCAR Hall of Fame, I asked some of this year's nominees who they thought should be next.

   David Pearson said he would like to see Cotton Owens inducted and wished Raymond Parks had been inducted before he passed away last year. "I think people who really got (NASCAR) going should be inducted first," he said.

   Kyle Petty, grandson of inductee Lee Petty, said during his speech Monday night that Lee's son, Maurice, should be the next Petty inducted to the Hall of Fame. Maurice Petty said he hoped he would be inducted at some point. "I just hope I'm still alive when it happens," he said.

    Ned Jarrett said he thought Darrell Waltrip and Cale Yarborough would be in the Hall's third class. He also said Owens, Dale Inman, Richie Evans, Jack Ingram and Herb Thomas should also be considered.

   Bud Moore agreed with Jarrett on Owens and also threw his support behind Raymond Parks and Joe Weatherly.


Who intros who at the NASCAR Hall

   If you're attending Monday night's NASCAR Hall of Fame inductions or planning to watch on Speed, here is a guide has to who will be introducing and inducting the five members of the Class of 2011 into the NASCAR Hall.

   -Bud Moore, Video introduction by Tom Brokaw; MRN's Barney Hall will be the inductor.
   -Lee Petty, Video introduction by former President George H.W. Bush; inductors: Kyle, Mark, Ritchie and Tim Petty.
   -Ned Jarrett, Video introduction by Ken SquierMakar.
   -Bobby Allison, Video introduction by Nick Saban; inductor: Donnie Allison.
   -David Pearson, Video introduction by Richard Petty; inductors: Russell Branham and Leonard Wood.