Friday, February 21, 2014

NASCAR releases list of 20 nominees for Hall of Fame induction

   Following are the 20 nominees for induction into the NASCAR Hall of Fame, listed alphabetically:

    Buddy Baker, won 19 times in NASCAR’s premier (now Sprint Cup) series, including the Daytona 500 and Southern 500

    Red Byron, first NASCAR premier series champion, in 1949

    Richard Childress, 11-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series
    Jerry Cook, six-time NASCAR Modified champion

    Bill Elliott, 1988 premier series champion, two-time Daytona 500 winner and 16-time Most Popular Driver

    Ray Fox, legendary engine builder and owner of cars driven by Buck Baker, Junior Johnson and others

    Rick Hendrick, 14-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series

    Bobby Isaac, 1970 NASCAR premier series champion

    Terry Labonte, Two-time NASCAR premier series champion

    Fred Lorenzen, 26 wins and winner of the Daytona 500 and World 600

    Raymond Parks, NASCAR’s first champion car owner

    Benny Parsons, 1973 NASCAR premier series champion  

    Larry Phillips, only five-time NASCAR Whelen All-American Series national champion

    Wendell Scott, NASCAR trailblazer was the first African-American NASCAR premier series race winner, and first to be nominated for induction into the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

    O. Bruton Smith, builder of Charlotte Motor Speedway and architect of Speedway Motorsports Inc.

    Mike Stefanik, winner of record-tying nine NASCAR championships

    Curtis Turner, early personality, called the "Babe Ruth of stock car racing"

    Joe Weatherly, two-time NASCAR premier series champion

    Rex White, 1960 NASCAR premier series champion

    Robert Yates, won NASCAR premier series championship as both an engine builder and owner


   The five nominees for the inaugural Landmark Award are as follows…
   H. Clay Earles, founder of Martinsville Speedway

    Anne Bledsoe France, helped build the sport with husband Bill France Sr. Affectionately known as "Annie B.," she is the first woman to be nominated for induction into the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

    Raymond Parks, NASCAR’s first champion car owner

    Ralph Seagraves, formed groundbreaking Winston-NASCAR partnership as executive with R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company

    Ken Squier, legendary radio and television broadcaster; inaugural winner / namesake of Squier-Hall Award for NASCAR Media Excellence


1 comment:

  1. My pick for the 5 inductees are:
    * Wendell Scott
    * Red Byron
    * Buddy Baker
    * Mike Stefanik, and
    * Larry Phillips

    and for the Landmark Award:
    Anne Bledsoe France

    I do not support inducting Richard Childress, Rick Hendrick or O. Bruton Smith at this time as they are still building their HoF legacies. I would also like to see the qualifications for induction altered to allow the late Alan Kulwicki's accomplishments to be recognized.