Thursday, September 26, 2013

NASCAR’s Kyle Busch Wins 3rd Q Driver of Year Award

   NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver Kyle Busch has been voted the third-quarter winner of the Driver of the Year award.

   Busch, 28, was a winner in all three of NASCAR’s top national series over the summer. He had two wins in Sprint Cup, three in Nationwide and one in Camping World Trucks.
He beat out sprint car driver Donny Schatz for the award, which is voted upon by a panel of American journalists and broadcasters.

   Barry Schmoyer, President of the Driver of the Year Foundation, said, “Kyle Busch is a truly a favorite in any series he chooses to race. I’ve watched him for his entire career and it’s hard to believe that he’s only 28 years old.”

   Busch, who drives for Joe Gibbs Racing, had eight first-place ballots and totaled 124 points according to the DOTY points system.

   The panel of 18 voters determines the winner of quarterly awards and then an overall winner following the season. In quarterly voting, points are awarded on a declining 9, 6, 4, 3, 2, 1 basis. Busch will receive a trophy and a Tissot wristwatch.

No comments:

Post a Comment